MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#33
Greg Bird
AVG HR RBI
.109 1 3
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-4 / 220 NFBC ADP: 204.15
Position: 1BBorn: 11/9/1992 Birthplace: Memphis, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 5th Round by Yankees (2011)


Latest News
Apr. 29 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Greg Bird went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 14-11 in 10 innings. He ended the game with a .109 batting average.
Analysis: Bird is 2 for 26 over his last eight games.
Apr. 17 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Despite breaking out of his slump Sunday night with a huge game at the plate, Bird was left on the bench Monday in favor of Chris Carter. Still, manager Joe Girardi insisted the team views Bird as an everyday player. ''(Derek) Holland's really tough on left-handers,'' Girardi explained. ''So we got as many righties as we could today.''
Analysis: Bird was 3 for 3 with his first homer of the season Sunday after entering the contest 1 for 26 with 13 strikeouts and zero RBIs on the young season.
Apr. 17 8:15 AM PT9:15 AM MT10:15 AM CT11:15 AM ET11:15 ET15:15 GMT23:15 8:15 AM MST10:15 AM EST10:45 AM VEN19:15 UAE10:15 AM CT-Bird had a much-needed breakout game in the Yankees' 9-3 win over St. Louis on Sunday. The struggling first baseman finished 3 for 3 with two runs scored and hit his first homer of the season, a two-run shot in the second inning.
Analysis: Bird entered the contest 1 for 26 with 13 strikeouts and zero RBIs on the young season. He's been dropped to seventh in the batting order after beginning the year in the No. 3 spot.
Apr. 15 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Bird's struggles continued Saturday against the Cardinals as he went 0 for 3 with two strikeouts.
Analysis: Bird is just 1 for 26 with 13 strikeouts this season. He's hitless in his last 18 at-bats.
Apr. 14 9:25 AM PT10:25 AM MT11:25 AM CT12:25 PM ET12:25 ET16:25 GMT0:25 9:25 AM MST11:25 AM EST11:55 AM VEN20:25 UAE11:25 AM CT-Bird returned to the Yankees' lineup Thursday, but went 0 for 4 with three strikeouts and is now 1 for 20 to begin the season.
Analysis: The young first baseman sat out New York's previous four games with a sore ankle and an illness, though he had been struggling mightily even before being sidelined. Bird has now struck out 10 times and has yet to drive in a run.
Apr. 12 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Bird was kept out of the starting lineup for the fourth straight day Wednesday to give his sore ankle another day to heal, though he said he's feeling better.
Analysis: Bird also might have been kept on the bench because the Yankees were facing a left-hander. The lefty-hitting Bird could be back Thursday with New York facing Rays right-hander Matt Andriese.
Apr. 8 5:27 PM PT6:27 PM MT7:27 PM CT8:27 PM ET20:27 ET0:27 GMT8:27 5:27 PM MST7:27 PM EST7:57 PM VEN4:27 UAE (+1)7:27 PM CT-Bird is out of the lineup Monday with continued flu-like symptoms and a slight ankle bruise, but could be available to pinch hit in the New York Yankees' home opener against the Tampa Bay Rays.
Analysis: Bird sat out Sunday's game, the same day catcher Gary Sanchez was placed on the 10-day disabled list with a strained biceps, and also missed a 5-4 loss to the Orioles on Saturday. The 24-year-old has one hit in 16 at-bats in 2017.
Mar. 9 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)2:41 PM CT-Gary Sanchez and Bird are providing hope that the New York Yankees can compete for the playoffs even during a season in which they're leaning toward a youth movement. The pair of 24-year old sluggers is putting up big numbers in exhibition games, both hitting well over .300 with three homers apiece.
Analysis: Bird went deep 11 times over 46 games in 2015, but the first baseman missed all of last season due to right shoulder surgery.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYY 46 157 26 41 9 0 11 31 19 53 0 0 .261 .343 .529
2017 NYY 16 55 4 6 3 0 1 3 7 20 0 0 .109 .222 .218
Career 62 212 30 47 12 0 12 34 26 73 0 0 .222 .311 .448

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYY Total 1 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
    WC 1 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
Career 1 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.